Home > Literature & Art > April is the Coolest Month

April is the Coolest Month

* T.S. Eliot had it right, except for Barcelona football.

(I am now re-reading The Waste Land after the Copa del Rey.)

[I am now listening to The Doors album, Morrison Hotel, after the first leg of the Champions League Semi-Finals, in Madrid.]

In April (and a lil’ bit of May), the Blaugrana play against Real Madrid 4 times…El Clásico in La Liga, the Copa del Rey Final, and in the Semi-Finals of the Champions League. Ohhhhhhh!!

CORRECTION: an earlier version of this blogpost noted Clásicos X2, which has since doubled in quantity thanks to both Barcelona and Real Madrid advancing to the Semi-Finals round of the Champions League where they will play against each other in the best of two matches. It will be Clásicos X4, after all.

April 6…Champions League

Barcelona v. Shakhtar Donetsk at 11:45am PST/2:45pm EST

* played in Barcelona

April 12…Champions League

Barcelona v. Shakhtar Donetsk at 11:45am PST/2:45pm EST

* played in Donetsk, Ukraine

April 16…La Liga

Barcelona v. Real Madrid at 1:00pm PST/4:00pm EST

* played in Madrid

April 20…Copa del Rey

Finals: Barcelona v. Real Madrid at 12:30 pm PST/3:30 pm EST

* played in Valencia

April 27…Champions League

Semi-Final: Barcelona v. Real Madrid at 11:30 am PST/2:30 pm EST

* played in Madrid

May 3…Champions League

Semi-Final: Barcelona v. Real Madrid at 11:30 am PST/2:30 pm EST

* played in Barcelona

__________________________________________________________________________________

This is the way the month of April ends, with a bang and not a whimper. : )

_________________________________________________________________________________

sources: http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/competitions/Draws/01/60/93/38/1609338_DOWNLOAD.pdf

http://www.latimes.com/sports/la-sp-jones-soccer-20110320,0,7795216.column

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/mar/10/tottenham-hotspur-barcelona-champions-league

http://www.slate.com/id/2278915/

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/04/16/sports/soccer/16iht-SOCCER16.html?src=twrhp

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704116404576262843436448426.html

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/clubfootball/news/newsid=1425507.html

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/04/28/sports/soccer/28onsoccer.html?src=twrhp

http://content.usatoday.com/communities/gameon/post/2011/04/lionel-messi-fc-barcelona-goal/1

_______________________________________________________________________________

When sport transcends to the point of Art, it is called “The Beautiful Game.”©

_______________________________________________________________________________
Advertisements
Categories: Literature & Art Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: